Mike Skinner Succumbs to Latest Internet Trend

I love The Streets.  Ever since Mike Skinner’s sophomore album, “A Grand Don’t Come For Free,” which beautifully chronicled one man’s journey through the worst day of his life and eventual redemption, I’ve found Britain’s answer to Slick Rick-style narratives to be inventive and engaging.  I was disappointed when I heard that there will only be one more Streets album (especially considering the fact that none of his successors seem to be able to match his wit and wordplay) but Mike’s shown no sign of slowing down.  He’s discovered TWITTER.

TWITTER is asinine, but, like Myspace before it, it proves a crucial avenue for musicians to showcase new music without the hassle of a record company.  Skinner has channeled the immediacy of Twitters tiny little blogs by promising to deliver three new songs in three days.  He came through on that promise, buuuut….are they any good?

Yes and No…

http://www.zshare.net/audio/5865344490dfb2e0/

First up is “I Love My Cellphone.”

Absolutely terrible.  Borderline unlistenable.  “A journey through time…” begins Skinner.  I could barely listen to this one without getting a headache.  There are a few interesting points to be made here about what we use our cellphones for, but it’s all done is tiny little verses with a chorus (..and we all know how good Mike is at THOSE…) repeated ad nauseum.  This one gave me very low hopes for the rest of the week.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/5865344490dfb2e0/

“Trust Me”
Heeere we go!  This is the Mike Skinner I enjoy.  The beat is a mishmash of disco guitar and sped up vocals with classical strings and Mike making much more interesting (and listenable points) about the internet and our technology-ridden future.  I hope Mike made this beat himself.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/58741911ffd641f3/

“David Hassles”
This song made me feel incredibly stupid and American.   I have no idea who David Hassle is, or Daniel Beddit (sp?).  I THINK this song about modern music.  Also has the corny line “I speak with a tweet you’re a beacon of weakness.”  It’s definitely better than that first song, but it reminds me of the lesser songs on “Everything is Borrowed,” where I’d listen to it once, but skip it on the album as a whole.

Skinner’s next album, tentatively titled “Computer and Blues,” could fit in any of these tracks, though I’d prefer it if we just kept that second gem.  Also, he promises three more songs next week.  Let’s see how many songs about computers the man has in him…

Leave a Reply

